Clear all

[Solved] what states is university of phoenix accredited in?

Topic starter

what states is university of phoenix accredited in ?

1 Answer

The University of Phoenix is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), which is a regional accrediting agency. The HLC oversees accreditation in 20 states:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. Colorado
  4. Illinois
  5. Indiana
  6. Iowa
  7. Kansas
  8. Kentucky
  9. Michigan
  10. Minnesota
  11. Missouri
  12. Montana
  13. Nebraska
  14. North Dakota
  15. Ohio
  16. Oklahoma
  17. South Dakota
  18. Tennessee
  19. Wisconsin
  20. Wyoming


The University of Phoenix is also accredited by the following state agencies:

  • Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education
  • California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
  • State of Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)
  • Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education
  • Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
  • The University of Phoenix also has campuses in several other states, but it is not accredited by the HLC in those states.



It is important to note that regional accreditation is considered to be the most prestigious and widely recognized type of accreditation in the United States. When a university is regionally accredited, it means that its degrees are recognized by employers and other educational institutions nationwide.